Doug Ramspeck


Doug Ramspeck is the author of six collections of poetry and one collection of short stories. His latest book of poems, Black Flowers (2018), is published by LSU Press. Other recent books include The Owl That Carries Us Away (2018), winner of the 2016 G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, and Original Bodies (2016), winner of the Michael Waters Poetry Prize and published by Southern Indiana Review Press. He is also the author of Mechanical Fireflies (2011), selected by Mary Ruefle for the Barrow Street Press Poetry Book Prize, Possum Nocturne (2010), and Black Tupelo Country (2008), which received the 2007 John Ciardi Prize for Poetry. His chapbook, Where We Come From, appeared in 2009.

Hundreds of Ramspeck’s poems have been published by literary journals that include The Kenyon Review, Slate, The Georgia Review, The Southern Review, and The Missouri Review. His short fiction has appeared in Southwest Review, Iowa ReviewNarrativeThe Southern ReviewThe Georgia ReviewSouth Carolina Review, and many others.

He is a two-time recipient of an Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award, a finalist for the UNT Rilke Prize, and the winner of the McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction.

A professor at The Ohio State University at Lima, he teaches creative writing and literature. He is also the English Program Coordinator and the faculty advisor for the online journal AsterismStudent editors produce a yearly showcase of poetry and fiction by undergraduates from across the country and beyond.

Prize anthology mentions

Best American Short Stories 2019*

* indicates notable/special mention

Send questions, comments and corrections to

Disclaimer: No endorsement of these ratings should be implied by the writers and writing programs listed on this site, or by the editors and publishers of Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, Best American Poetry, The O. Henry Prize Stories and The Pushcart Prize Anthology.