Andrew Altschul


Andrew Altschul is the author of three novels: The Gringa (2020), Deus Ex Machina (2011) and Lady Lazarus (2008). His short fiction and essays have appeared in publications including Esquire, McSweeney's, Ploughshares, Fence, One Story, StoryQuarterly, and anthologies such as Best American Nonrequired Reading, Best New American Voices, and O. Henry Prize Stories. A former Wallace Stegner Fellow and Jones Lecturer at Stanford, and recipient of a fellowships from the Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center, the Ucross Foundation, and the Fundación Valparaíso, Altschul currently directs the MFA program at Colorado State University.

Prize anthology mentions

Best American Short Stories 2012*

Best American Short Stories 2014*

* indicates notable/special mention

Send questions, comments and corrections to

Disclaimer: No endorsement of these ratings should be implied by the writers and writing programs listed on this site, or by the editors and publishers of Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, Best American Poetry, The O. Henry Prize Stories and The Pushcart Prize Anthology.