K. A. Hays


K. A. (Katie) Hays is the author of three full-length poetry collections published by the Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series: Windthrow (2017); Early Creatures, Native Gods (2012), and Dear Apocalypse (2009). Her poems have appeared in Best American Poetry (20092011), Best New Poets, and many magazines, including Southern Review, American Poetry Review, Kenyon Review, Northern Woodlands, and Gray's Sporting Journal. She is also a fiction writer whose work has appeared in more than a dozen magazines. Born in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania in 1980, Hays studied literature at Bucknell and Oxford universities, and earned an M.F.A. in the Literary Arts (fiction) from Brown University in 2005. A recent poet-in-residence at the former Elizabeth Bishop House in Great Village, Nova Scotia, and at the Robert Frost Place in Franconia, New Hampshire, she teaches in the Creative Writing Program at Bucknell and directs the Bucknell Seminar for Undergraduate Poets.

Prize anthology mentions

Best American Poetry 2009

Best American Poetry 2011

* indicates notable/special mention

Send questions, comments and corrections to info@creativewritingmfa.info.

Disclaimer: No endorsement of these ratings should be implied by the writers and writing programs listed on this site, or by the editors and publishers of Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, Best American Poetry, The O. Henry Prize Stories and The Pushcart Prize Anthology.